Christmas Video Announcements for Youth Group

Posted on December 16, 2011

0


Over at Life in Student Ministry there was a post about creating animated video announcements. Turns out there are several iOS and Android apps which record your voice and then create animated characters that go along with your words. You can then take the video and upload it to YouTube and Facebook for your students.

Since this week we are having a Christmas Party instead of regular Youth Group, I decided to try out one of these apps to create video announcements. For the experiment, I purchased Talking Santa for iPad HD ($2.99)[iTunes link].

The app is very cool. An animated Santa is standing in the foreground, and will mimic the words you record. There are several buttons that let you interact with Santa. For instance, he can bring a gift from his bag and either open it or angrily stomp on it. You can have him get run over by a rogue snowball. You can even have him eat cookies and milk!

It took a while to get used to recording my voice. I would say a few words and then Santa would automatically start speaking. I realized I couldn’t talk over him, otherwise it wouldn’t record. Once I got the hang of it, I recorded the video in 30 seconds. Uploading the video was very simple: enter in your YouTube account info, and it appeared on the web 2 minutes later.

Here is the announcement I wound up with:

Nothing too fancy, but that’s the whole point: this app allows youth workers to make a decent brief Christmas video with absolutely no technological experience necessary. This app is a simple and easy way to make a good looking Christmas announcement.

